June 17, 2024

Education Hierarchy of Learning


In the world of education, there is a hierarchy of learning that encompasses various levels and types of knowledge acquisition. This hierarchy represents the different stages of learning and provides a framework for understanding how knowledge is built upon and expanded.

Levels of the Hierarchy

1. Foundational Knowledge

At the base of the hierarchy lies foundational knowledge. This level represents the fundamental facts, concepts, and principles that serve as the building blocks for further learning. It includes basic arithmetic, vocabulary, historical events, and scientific laws.

2. Comprehension

The next level of the hierarchy is comprehension. This level involves the ability to understand and interpret the information that has been learned. It includes skills such as summarizing, paraphrasing, and explaining concepts in one’s own words.

3. Application

Application is the level where knowledge is put into practice. This involves using the acquired knowledge and skills to solve problems, make decisions, and apply concepts to real-life situations. It is the bridge between theoretical understanding and practical use.

4. Analysis

Analysis is the level where learners break down information into its component parts to understand its structure and organization. It involves examining the relationships between different elements and identifying patterns, trends, and connections.

5. Synthesis

Synthesis is the level where learners combine different pieces of information and ideas to create something new. It involves the ability to integrate knowledge from multiple sources, develop unique perspectives, and generate innovative solutions.

6. Evaluation

The highest level of the hierarchy is evaluation. This level involves critically assessing information, arguments, and ideas based on specified criteria. It requires learners to make judgments, form opinions, and defend their positions based on evidence and logical reasoning.

The Importance of the Hierarchy

The education hierarchy of learning is important as it provides a roadmap for educators to design effective learning experiences and curriculum. By understanding the different levels of the hierarchy, educators can scaffold learning activities and assessments to ensure that students progress from foundational knowledge to higher-order thinking skills.


The education hierarchy of learning is a valuable framework for understanding the different levels of knowledge acquisition. It highlights the progression from foundational knowledge to higher-order thinking skills and provides a guide for educators to support student learning. By recognizing the importance of each level, educators can create engaging and meaningful learning experiences that foster deep understanding and critical thinking.

Table of Contents

Levels of the Hierarchy – Foundational Knowledge – Comprehension – Application – Analysis – Synthesis – Evaluation
The Importance of the Hierarchy